The job of an intern part 1

Hello, my name is Phoebe.  I’m currently interning at Hannah Dulcie and thought it would be good to post updates on my time here.

So far it’s been amazing.

I’m in my third week here at HD, and already I have had the chance to help with one of the Private Vintage Club events, do some independent market research, make a few mood boards and trend forecasts for the next ‘Loved By’ range, and even have a go at running the shop and fitting bra’s.  It’s been really interesting to see lingerie designers working in the industry, and what it takes to run an independent boutique.

The highlight so far has to be the Private Vintage Club event held at Opa at the end of April.  My job, was first to help with tickets on the door, and second to make sure the models got into the right outfits and looked perfect before they walked out to greet the crowd. Luckily I had Alicia from HD to show me the ropes.  Just before the show was about to start, I felt so nervous!  My impression of fashion shows was one of films, where someone falls over; garments get ripped off and backstage is total chaos.  This was not the case at the Private Vintage Club at all.  All the models (and me and Alicia!) had a complimentary glass of bubbly, there were chocolates and sweets for us to snack on, and the models knew exactly what they were putting on next.

The show went so smoothly, and the crowd loved it.  We had vintage usherettes (courtesy of The Little Theatre) handing out chocolates and cakes between walks, every ticket holder got a free glass of champagne and the first 60 odd guests managed to get a goodie bag with money off vouchers and Aveda samples!  No wonder they were having a good time.  Oh! AND we had a vintage popcorn machine, so everyone got that free too!
After the girls were in their last outfit, Alicia and I got to take a seat and watch the final walk, the night time lingerie.  The finale was provided by a beautiful burlesque performer.
I left the event with a huge smile on my face.  It further confirmed to me that lingerie is definitely where I want to be.

In the boutique, I am concentrating mainly on researching trends and sketching a few design ideas for the next ‘Loved By’ range for Hannah Dulcie Lingerie.  I can’t wait to see the process of choosing the design, getting it made and seeing how it sells!

I think that’s enough from me, you will hear from me again soon. You can see photos from the show here!

Phoebe x

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

